Ethan Michael Robinson Lesley Gray Sabga Kendra L. Sanders* Katherine Clare Scatena Margaret Layne Schuh Bethany Lynne Stewart Joseph Andrew Torres Jessica Beth Vaughn Brenton Ward Chandler McCall Ward Matthew David Watson Austin Barrett Weedman James Richard Williams Matthew Lawrence Williams Keifer Scott Winings Ryan Jess Winstead Christopher Lee Wright Anna K. Yi* Cory Charles Zigmund

<u>Linguistics Undergraduate Degrees</u>

Martha Courtney Crouch
Jonathan Campbell Fisher
Katherine Juett Harrison
Amelia K. Holloway
Brandon Wayne Jent
Angela Marie Mischke
Joseph T. Rhyne
Christopher Robert Taylor
Carson Rhea Yates

*indicates Sigma Tau Delta members



DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH

Thirty-Fourth Annual Awards Ceremony

Friday, May 1, 2015 2:00 p.m.

Lexmark Public Room Main Building

Reception to follow



Thirty-Fourth Annual English Awards Day Ceremony

Professor Jeffory A. Clymer, Chair Department of English

Professor Pearl James, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Professor Andrew Hippisley, Director of Linguistics Program

Professor Julia Johnson, Director of Creative Writing

Professor Andrew Doolen, Director of Graduate Studies

Keynote Address

Mr. Kip Cornett
CEO, CORNETT
UK English Department Alumnus of the Year

"That and a Quarter Will Buy You a Coke"

Undergraduate Awards

Dantzler-Dantzler Award For Academic Achievement by a Senior

Mary Kathryn Elliott* Kendra L. Sanders* Brooks Thomas Gorby

OJ. & Ruby Wilson Scholarship For an Outstanding Senior

Katelyn Rose Cross*

Julester Shrady Post Memorial Scholarship

Autumn Renae Murphy Katelyn Rose Cross*

Barbara Sutton Cowles Scholarship For an Outstanding Senior

Samuel Hardin Cox Ellyce Catherine Loveless

John Spalding Gatton Provost Scholarship

Andrew Thomas Turner

Patricia and William Stacy Endowed Fellowship In Undergraduate English Education

Sarah Catherine Moore Cara Ashlee Dunham

Michael Adelstein Award For Prospective High School Teachers of English

Casey Renee Hibbard Julia Elizabeth Insko

Bill Bridges Scholarship For an Outstanding First-Generation College Graduate Majoring in English

Sarah Ellen Blakeman Shelby Lynn Bevins*

Best Undergraduate Essay In a 200-Level Literature or Film Class

First Place:
Nicole K. Solakiewicz
"Closer Look at Laura Brown"
ENG 230, Introduction to Literature
Instructor: Jenna Goldsmith

Honorable Mention: Elizabeth Lane Ecton "Escaping Mrs. Robinson" ENG 280, Introduction to Film Instructor: Leah Toth

Undergraduate English Departmental Honors (GPA of 3.75 or higher)

Shelby Lynn Bevins* Sarah Ellen Blakeman Emily Marie Cottingham Samuel Hardin Cox Katelyn Rose Cross* Cara Ashlee Dunham Mary Kathryn Elliott* Jonathan Campbell Fisher Holly Carole Godbey **Brooks Thomas Gorby** Casey Renee Hibbard Kelsey Leigh Hopkins Julia Elizabeth Insko Ellyce Catherine Loveless Nathan Alexander Moore* Sarah Catherine Moore Autumn Renae Murphy Jean-Louise Scout Noffke Joseph B Payne* **Ionathan Robert Pickett** Kendra L Sanders* Margaret Layne Schuh Austin Barrett Weedman Ryan Jess Winstead

Linguistics Program Awards

Best Linguistics Major Student Award

Joseph T. Rhyne

<u>Undergraduate Linguistics</u>
<u>Program Honors</u>
(GPA of 3.75 or higher)

Martha Courtney Crouch Jonathan Campbell Fisher Angela Marie Mischke Joseph T. Rhyne Carson Rhea Yates

Creative Writing Awards

2014-2015 Betty Combs Owen Recruitment Scholarship

Sarah Abbott

Nikky Finney Graduate Fellowship

Bernard Clay

Farquhar Award for Poetry

Tiwaladeoluwa Beloved Adekunle "becoming eve"

Dantzler Award for Fiction

Brenton Ward "Summer Snow"

Dantzler Award for Creative Non-Fiction

Mary Kathryn Elliott "l'appel du vide"

Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing Award in Poetry

Joy Bowman
"A Visit to the Clinic"

Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing Award in Fiction

Amy Copelin "The Ceremony"

Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing Award in Creative Non-Fiction

Courtney Casero "Eyesore"

UK Libraries Poetry Broadside Contest Undergraduate Award

Kelsey N. Potter "I am Their Vessel"

UK Libraries Poetry Broadside Contest Graduate Award

Robin Lamer Rahija "Our Melancholy Fates"

Graduate Awards

Ellershaw Award For an Outstanding Ph.D. Candidate

Andrea Holliger

William J. Sowder Award For Best Graduate Student Critical Paper

> Benjamin John Wilson Megan E. Pillow-Davis

Ben Wathen Black Memorial Graduate Scholarship In British Literature

Deirdre Marie Mikolajcik

Patricia and William Stacy Endowed Fellowship In Graduate English Education

Noor Hisham Kasim Al-Attar

Robert L. Doty English Graduate Support Fund

Travis Lee Martin

Outstanding Literature or Film Teaching Assistant

William Guy Spriggs

College of Arts & Sciences Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Leah Hutchison Toth

Faculty Recognition

College of Arts & Sciences Award for Excellence in Teaching Large Courses

Michelle Sizemore

William S. Ward Award

Julia Johnson

Forty Years of Service

Armando Prats

Twenty-Five Years of Service

Anna Bosch

Graduate Degrees

M.A.

Rachel Carr Karen Langer Cristy Lopez Collin Skeen

Ph.D.

Rebecca Beach Jesslyn Collins-Frohlich Andrea Holliger Nikki Tarrant-Hoskins Joshua Seth Lee Sarah Schuetze Nathan Shank

M.A.L.T.T.

Noor Bueasa Michelle Compton Ghazaleh Kazeminejad

Undergraduate Degrees

Sarah Elizabeth Adkins Michael Emmett Angelove Elizabeth Ann Baumann Shelby Lynn Bevins* Sarah Ellen Blakeman Jon Nicholas Blevins Brian P. Carroll Delaney M. Carter

Samantha K. Case Mackenzie Catherine Chancellor Emily Marie Cottingham Samuel Hardin Cox Katelyn Rose Cross* **Brittany Paige Daniels** Cara Ashlee Dunham Christa Louise Edwards Lauren Michelle Ekers Mary Kathryn Elliott* Marshall Luke Fegenbush Alexandra B. Ferguson Jonathan Campbell Fisher Holly Carole Godbey **Brooks Thomas Gorby** Casev Renee Hibbard Ashleigh Ann Holden Kelsey Leigh Hopkins Kara Roxanne Howard Iulia Elizabeth Insko Courtney Elizabeth Jaconette Lucy Anne Jayes Stuart Congleton King Ricardo Rene Loredo Ellyce Catherine Loveless Christina Michelle Mollett Nathan Alexander Moore* Sarah Catherine Moore Autumn Renae Murphy Jean-Louise Scout Noffke Leah Ariel Nugent Joseph B. Payne* **Ionathan Robert Pickett** Glenn Allen Riggs